Welcome to the conference page of the Association of Nursing Directors of University Hospitals and Medical Universities in Germany
(VPU e.V.)

International conference online August 25th 2022 / 7.00 – 9.00 p.m.

Thinking Nursing Globally
Nursing Shortage, Challenges and Solutions

The Association of Nursing Directors of University Hospitals and Medical Universities in Germany e.V. and the Network of Nursing Science and Practice Development are holding a online conference on the evening of August 25th 2022, to discuss and deliberate the subject of worldwide nursing staff situation. The conference is aiming to create a joint exchange platform with nursing experts and managers from various countries to work out best practices, lessons learned and inhibiting factors globally. The main focus of the event is mutual learning from participating countries, in terms of their implementation and structures to counteract the shortage of nurses. The conference welcomes nursing management at all levels in the clinical setting.

Hosted by

The free online conference will take place via Zoom Events. Registration with Zoom is required free of charge. The conference will be held in English only.

Download programme international conference

Greetings

Howard Catton Chief Executive Officer International Council of Nurses

On behalf of the International Council of Nurses and our over 130 national nursing association members, thank you for hosting this critically important conference dealing with the global workforce shortage which I believe to be the greatest threat to health in the future. The World Health Organization’s State of the World’s Nurses reported a shortage of almost six million nurses in 2018.

The recent ICNM report, Sustain and Retain in 2022 and Beyond argues that shortages will be exacerbated “because of COVID-19 driven ill health, burnout,absence, reduced working hours, and early retirement”. In fact, ICN believes that the nursing shortage could be as many as 13 million in the next few years, unless action is taken now. The pandemic has shown us the centrality of health to all our aspects of life, not just our physical and our mental health, but our ability to be with friends and families, and to live in communities that are safe and cohesive, which also contributes to our happiness, safety and security. The events that we are seeing unfolding across Europe and the Ukraine, as well as the dreadful events in the Tigray, Afghanistan, Myanmar and elsewhere, also show the centrality of nursing and healthcare to our lives, and that health and peace are inseparable. These events have also shown us the terrible toll that the pandemic, wars, conflicts and natural disasters have on our nursing workforce. We have seen high infection rates amongst nurses through the pandemic, at least 180,000 tragic deaths of healthcare workers, enormous mental health, psychological pressures, abuse and violence. We know what we need to do. As the WHO Strategic Directions for Nursing and Midwifery say very clearly, "We must invest in nursing education, nursing jobs, and nursing leadership." ICN in our publication, Invest in Nursing and Respect Rights to Secure Global Health, has added two more objectives: protecting nurses' safety and investing in nurses' health and wellbeing. We include practical actions that countries, nurses, and others could taketo put the policy priorities into action.

The nursing shortage can no longer be ignored. Now is the time to take action! Thank you to the VPU’s Nursing Science and Practice Development Network for highlighting this critical issue. I wish you all a productive discussion.

Howard Catton, CEO, International Council of Nurses (ICN)

The International Council of Nurses, of which the German Nursing Association DBfK e.V. is a member in its report “Sustain and Remain and Beyond 2022” that we are facing a major shortage of nurses worldwide.

The title of the event “Thinking Nursing Globally” in this respect very well chosen. Nursing cannot be thought of in a limited way - because we jeopardize health in many countries and weaken global health when the shortage of nurses drives affected countries to recruit nurses from other countries in a big way. Other and overarching ways must be found to counter the shortage in professional nursing - especially in Germany. This conference can make an important contribution.

Dr. Bernadette Klapper, Federal Managing Director

Speaker

Six experts from different countries each report on their health care system and nursing education system as well as the nursing staff ratio (skill mix in nursing care teams), consequences, solutions in the clinical setting.

Rodolfo C. Borromeo, EdD (Philippinen)

Rodolfo C. Borromeo is Vice President of Nursing at Manila Doctors Hospital and adjunct professor at various universities (University of Manila; Arellano University; St. Paul University; Concordia College). 

You can find the full CV here: CV_Borromeo

Prof. James Buchan
(UK)

Prof Buchan is a Senior Fellow at the Health Foundation. He is also an Associate Professor at the WHO Collaborating Centre for Nursing at the University of Technology, Sydney (UTS), Australia.

You can find the full CV here: CV_Buchan

Dr. Timothy Carrigan
(USA)

Dr Timothy Carrigan ist Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) und Vizepräsident für Patientenversorgung am Loyola University Medical Center.

You can find the full CV here: CV_Carrigan

Helle Dokken
(Germany)

Helle Dokken is Director of Nursing at the University Medical Centre Göttingen.

You can find the full CV here: CV_Dokken

Kasia Przylepa
(Poland)

Kasia Przylepa works, among other things, as a lecturer in the foreign language department of the Medical University of Lublin, Poland.

You can find the full CV here: CV_Przylepa

Sixtus Ruyumbu Safari (Tanzania)

Sixtus R. Safari is the chairperson of the Tanzania Critical Care Nurses Association (TCCNA) and a board member of the African Federation of Critical Care Nurses.

You can find the full CV here: CV_Sixtus

Organisational committee:

Dr. phil. Manuela Bergjan

Nursing Science and Development, Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin and Professor of Nursing Science at the Akkon University of Applied Sciences, Berlin

Dr. Uli Fischer

Head of the Department of Clinical Nursing Research and Quality Management at LMU Klinikum München, deputy Spokesperson of the Network Nursing Science and Practice Development

Dr. Shiney Franz

Nursing scientist at the University Medical Center Göttingen and Administrative Professor of Nursing, University of Applied Sciences, HAWK, Göttingen

Andreas Kocks

Nursing scientist at Bonn University Hospital, spokesperson of the Nursing Science and Practice Development Network at VPU

Nina Kolbe

Nursing scientist at the University Hospital Münster, deputy Spokesperson of the Network Nursing Science and Practice Development

Dr. Peter Nydahl

Nursing science and development
University Hospital Schleswig-Holstein, Kiel

Jennifer Luboeinski

Coordinator to support the Nursing Science and Practice Development Network in the VPU e.V.

Herzlich willkommen auf der Konferenzseite des Verbandes der Pflegedirektorinnen und Pflegedirektoren der Universitätskliniken und Medizinischen Hochschulen Deutschlands
(VPU e.V.)

Internationale Online-Konferenz 25. August 2022 I 19:00 - 21:00

Thinking Nursing Globally
Nursing Shortage, Challenges and Solutions

Der Verband der Pflegedirektorinnen und Pflegedirektoren der Universitätskliniken und Medizinischen Hochschulen Deutschlands e.V. und das Netzwerk Pflegewissenschaft und Praxisentwicklung veranstalten am Abend des 25. August 2022 eine Online-Konferenz, um das Thema der weltweiten Pflegepersonalsituation zu diskutieren. Ziel der Konferenz ist es, eine gemeinsame Austauschplattform mit Pflegeexpert:innen und Manager:innen aus verschiedenen Ländern zu schaffen, um Best Practices, Lessons Learned und hemmende Faktoren global zu eruieren. Der Schwerpunkt der Veranstaltung liegt auf dem gegenseitigen Lernen der teilnehmenden Länder in Bezug auf deren Umsetzung und Strukturen, um dem Mangel an Pflegefachpersonal entgegenzuwirken. Die Konferenz richtet sich an das Pflegemanagement aller Ebenen im klinischen Bereich.

Schirmherrschaft

Die kostenlose Online-Konferenz findet über Zoom Events statt. Für die Anmeldung ist eine kostenlose Registrierung bei Zoom erforderlich. Die Konferenz wird nur in englischer Sprache abgehalten.

Download programme international conference

Grußwort der Schirmherren

Howard Catton Chief Executive Officer International Council of Nurses

Im Namen des International Council of Nurses (ICN) und unserer über 130 nationalen Krankenpflegeverbände danke ich Ihnen für die Ausrichtung dieser äußerst wichtigen Konferenz, die sich mit dem weltweiten Arbeitskräftemangel befasst, der meiner Meinung nach die größte Bedrohung für die Gesundheit der Zukunft darstellt. Der Bericht der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) über den Zustand des Pflegepersonals in der Welt meldete für 2018 einen Mangel von fast sechs Millionen Pflegefachpersonen.

Im jüngsten ICNM-Bericht „Sustain and Retain in 2022 and Beyond“ wird argumentiert, dass sich der Mangel „aufgrund von COVID-19-bedingten Krankheiten, Burnout, Abwesenheit, reduzierten Arbeitszeiten und Frühverrentung“ noch verschärfen wird. Der ICN ist der Ansicht, dass der Mangel an Pflegekräften in den nächsten Jahren bis zu 13 Millionen betragen könnte, wenn nicht sofort Maßnahmen ergriffen werden. Die Pandemie hat uns gezeigt, wie wichtig die Gesundheit für alle Aspekte unseres Lebens ist, nicht nur für unsere körperliche und geistige Gesundheit, sondern auch für unsere Fähigkeit, mit Freunden und Familien zusammen zu sein und in Gemeinschaften zu leben, die sicher und geschlossen sind, was ebenfalls zu unserem Glück, unserer Sicherheit und unserem Schutz beiträgt. Die Ereignisse, die sich in Europa und der Ukraine abspielen, sowie die schrecklichen Ereignisse in Tigray, Afghanistan, Myanmar und anderswo zeigen, wie wichtig Pflege und Gesundheit für unser Leben sind und dass Gesundheit und Frieden untrennbar miteinander verbunden sind. Diese Ereignisse haben uns auch gezeigt, welch schrecklichen Tribut Pandemien, Kriege, Konflikte und Naturkatastrophen für unser Pflegepersonal bedeuten. Die Pandemie hat zu hohen Infektionsraten unter den Pflegekräften geführt, zu mindestens 180.000 tragischen Todesfällen unter den Beschäftigten des Gesundheitswesens, zu enormen psychischen Belastungen, Missbrauch und Gewalt. Wir wissen, was wir tun müssen. In den Strategischen Leitlinien der WHO für das Pflege- und Hebammenwesen heißt es ganz klar: „Wir müssen in die Ausbildung von Pflegekräften, in Arbeitsplätze für Pflegektäfte und in Führungspositionen in der Pflege investieren.“ Der ICN hat in seiner Veröffentlichung „Invest in Nursing and Respect Rights to Secure Global Health“ zwei weitere Ziele hinzugefügt: Schutz der Sicherheit von Pflegekräften und Investitionen in die Gesundheit und das Wohlbefinden von Pflegekräften. Die Publikation enthält praktische Maßnahmen, die Länder, Pflegekräfte und andere ergreifen können, um die politischen Prioritäten in die Tat umzusetzen.

Der Mangel an Pflegekräften kann nicht länger ignoriert werden. Jetzt ist es an der Zeit, zu handeln! Ich danke dem Netzwerk für Pflegewissenschaft und Praxisentwicklung des VPU für das Aufzeigen dieses kritischen Themas. Ich wünsche Ihnen allen eine produktive Diskussion.

Howard Catton, CEO, International Council of Nurses (ICN)

Der International Council of Nurses, dem der Deutsche Berufsverband für Pflegeberufe DBfK e.V. als Mitglied angehört, hat in seinem Bericht „Sustain and Remain and Beyond 2022“ dargelegt, dass wir weltweit mit einem großen Mangel an Pflegenden zu rechnen haben.

Der Titel der Veranstaltung „Thinking Nursing Globally“ ist in dieser Hinsicht sehr gut gewählt. Pflege kann nicht begrenzt gedacht werden – denn wir gefährden Gesundheit in vielen Ländern und schwächen globale Gesundheit, wenn der Mangel an Pflegepersonen die betroffenen Länder dazu bewegt, in großem Stil Pflegepersonen aus anderen Ländern anzuwerben. Es müssen andere und übergreifende Wege gefunden werden, dem Mangel in der beruflichen Pflege – auch gerade in Deutschland – zu begegnen. Diese Tagung kann dazu wichtige Beiträge beisteuern.

Dr. Bernadette Klapper, Bundesgeschäftsführerin

Referent:innen

Sechs Expert:innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern berichten jeweils zu ihrem Gesundheitssystem und Pflegeausbildungssystem sowie dem Pflegepersonalschlüssel (Qualifikationsmix in den pflegerischen Versorgungsteams), Konsequenzen, Lösungen im klinischen Setting.

Rodolfo C. Borromeo, EdD (Philippinen)

Rodolfo C. Borromeo ist Vizepräsidentin der Pflegedirektion im Manila Doctors Hospital und Lehrbeauftragter an verschiedenen Hochschulen (University of Manila; Arellano University; St. Paul University; Concordia College) 

Den gesamten Lebenslauf finden Sie hier: CV_Borromeo

Prof. James Buchan
(England)

Prof. Buchan ist Senior Fellow bei der Health Foundation. Außerdem ist er außerordentlicher Professor am WHO-Kollaborationszentrum für Krankenpflege an der University of Technology, Sydney (UTS), Australien.

Den gesamten Lebenslauf finden Sie hier: CV_Buchan

Dr. Timothy Carrigan
(USA)

Dr Timothy Carrigan ist Chief Nursing Officer (CNO) und Vizepräsident für Patientenversorgung am Loyola University Medical Center.

Den gesamten Lebenslauf finden Sie hier: CV_Carrigan

Helle Dokken
(Deutschland)

Helle Dokken ist Pflegedirektorin an der Universitätsmedizin Göttingen.

Den gesamten Lebenslauf finden Sie hier: CV_Dokken

Kasia Przylepa
(Polen)

Kasia Przylepa ist u.a. als Dozentin in der Fremdsprachenabteilung  der Medizinischen Universität Lublin, Polen tätig.

Den gesamten Lebenslauf finden Sie hier: CV_Przylepa

Sixtus Ruyumbu Safari (Tansania)

Sixtus R. Safari ist Vorsitzender der Tanzania Critical Care Nurses Association (TCCNA) und Vorstandsmitglied der African Federation of Critical Care Nurses.

Den gesamten Lebenslauf finden Sie hier: CV_Sixtus

Organisationsteam der Internationalen Konferenz

Dr. phil. Manuela Bergjan

Pflegewissenschaft- und entwicklung, Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin und Professorin für Pflegewissenschaft an der Akkon Hochschule für Humanwissenschaften, Berlin

Dr. Uli Fischer

Leiter der Abteilung für Klinische Pflegeforschung und Qualitätsmanagement an der LMU Klinikum München, stellvertretender Sprecher des Netzwerks Pflegewissenschaft und Praxisentwicklung

Dr. Shiney Franz

Pflegewissenschaftlerin an der Universität Klinikum Göttingen und Verwaltungsprofessorin für Pflege an der Hochschule für angewandte Wissenschaften (HAWK), Göttingen

Andreas Kocks

Pflegewissenschaftler am Universitätsklinikum Bonn, Sprecher des Netzwerks Pflegewissenschaft und -praxisentwicklung im VPU

Nina Kolbe

Pflegewissenschaftlerin am Universitätsklinikum Münster, stellvertretende Sprecherin des Netzwerks Pflegewissenschaft und Praxisentwicklung

Dr. Peter Nydahl

Pflegewissenschaft und -entwicklung,
Universitätsklinikum Schleswig- Holstein, Kiel

Jennifer Luboeinski

Koordinatorin zur Unterstützung des Netzwerkes Pflegewissenschaft und Praxisentwicklung im VPU e.V.